Bastogne Barracks

NUTS 2017

Brussels, the 15 December 2017 –
As every year in mid-December, le War Heritage Institute – site Bastogne Barracks commémore la Bataille des Ardennes. these Saturday 16 and Sunday 17 December 2017, Bastogne Barracks organized for the general public many exciting activities as part of the weekend Nuts 2017 !

Nuts, a historic replica
In December 1944, the German army launched an offensive on the city of Bastogne. To defend the city, the 101st Airborne Division set up his headquarters in the barracks Lieutenant Heintz, the current Bastogne Barracks. When the German army besieged the city to force the Americans to surrender, General McAuliffe simply this laconic reply : “Nuts”. Ces quatre lettres auront un impact majeur sur le dénouement de la Bataille des Ardennes.

Nuts, a festive weekend in Bastogne Barracks
Every year, Bastogne Barracks and the town of Bastogne, commemorates the Battle of the Bulge. With a varied program, Bastogne Barracks, site du War Heritage Institute, plunges the audience into the mood December 1944. Vi-site this interpretation center, where history is "alive", proves an unforgettable experience. The old atmosphere is palpable, particularly in the winery Nuts, where General McAuliffe delivered his historic replica. The public can also discover the many tanks and armored vehicles and visi-er the tanks restoration workshop. at regular intervals will be a parade of military vehicles, including a Hetzer, a Halftrack M16 and two Sherman.

The program also provides for dynamic demonstrations of first aid post and weapons. Finally, militaria enthusiasts can explore the stands of various exhibitors. The full program is on www.bastogne-barracks.be.

War Heritage Institute – site Bastogne Barracks
Le War Heritage Institute (WHI) a pour mission de valoriser le patrimoine militaire belge, Memory of armed conflict on Belgian soil or involving Belgians abroad. The WHI includes sites, dont Bastogne Barracks.

Le site Bastogne Barracks est le centre d’interprétation par excellence pour la Bataille des Ardennes. Il abrite la collection de tanks de la Seconde Guerre mondiale du WHI et les restaure également dans son Vehicle Restoration Center.

Useful information

Date : 16 – 17 December 2017 from 9 h 18 h

Or : War Heritage Institute – Site Bastogne
Barracks, Rue de la Roche 40,
6600 Bastogne

Free admission

Info : www.warheritage.be – www.bastogne-barracks.be

EnglishFrenchDutch

Bastogne Barracks

NUTS 2017

Bruxelles, le 15 décembre 2017 –
Comme chaque année à la mi-décembre, le War Heritage Institute – site Bastogne Barracks commémore la Bataille des Ardennes. Ces samedi 16 et dimanche 17 décembre 2017, Bastogne Barracks organise pour le grand public de nombreuses activités passionnantes dans le cadre du weekend Nuts 2017 !

Nuts, une réplique historique
En décembre 1944, l’armée allemande lance une offensive sur la ville de Bastogne. Pour défendre la ville, la 101st Airborne Division installe son quartier général dans la caserne Sous-lieutenant Heintz, l’actuel Bastogne Barracks. Lorsque l’armée allemande assiège la ville pour forcer les Américains à se rendre, le général McAuliffe se contente de cette réplique laconique : “Nuts”. Ces quatre lettres auront un impact majeur sur le dénouement de la Bataille des Ardennes.

Nuts, un week-end festif à Bastogne Barracks
Chaque année, Bastogne Barracks et la ville de Bastogne, commémore la Bataille des Ardennes. Avec un programme varié, Bastogne Barracks, site du War Heritage Institute, plonge le public dans l’ambiance de décembre 1944. La vi-site de ce centre d’interprétation, où l’histoire est “vivante”, se révèle une expérience inoubliable. L’ambiance d’antan est palpable, notamment dans la Cave Nuts, où le général McAuliffe a prononcé sa réplique historique. Le public pourra aussi découvrir les nombreux chars et véhicules blindés et visi-er l’atelier de restauration des chars. à intervalles réguliers aura lieu un défilé de véhicules militaires, dont un Hetzer, un Halftrack M16 et deux Sherman.

Le programme prévoit encore des démonstrations dynamiques d’un poste de secours et d’armes. Enfin, les amateurs de militaria pourront explorer les stands des différents exposants. Le programme complet se trouve sur www.bastogne-barracks.be.

War Heritage Institute – site Bastogne Barracks
Le War Heritage Institute (WHI) a pour mission de valoriser le patrimoine militaire belge, la mémoire des conflits armés sur le sol belge ou impliquant des Belges à l’étranger. Le WHI comporte différents sites, dont Bastogne Barracks.

Le site Bastogne Barracks est le centre d’interprétation par excellence pour la Bataille des Ardennes. Il abrite la collection de tanks de la Seconde Guerre mondiale du WHI et les restaure également dans son Vehicle Restoration Center.

Informations pratiques

Date : 16 – 17 décembre 2017 de 9 h à 18 h

Où : War Heritage Institute – site Bastogne
Barracks, rue de la Roche 40,
6600 Bastogne

Entrée gratuite

Info : www.warheritage.be – www.bastogne-barracks.be

EnglishFrenchDutch